2 comments on “Shorthand

  1. I wanted to learn shorthand for years and never made the time. Then I found, through eight years of university, that I was unintentionally inventing my own. Picked up from all over – pieces of other shorthand forms, IPA symbols, abbreviations and words scrawled so quickly and commonly that they naturally became a certain squiggle.

    Works for me. With the added benefit that no one else can read my notes-to-self. However, I’ll admit that might not be a benefit in all workplaces, unless you’re feeling particularly sadistic toward your minions.

    • Considering how few people know shorthand these days, I suspect my minions will be in that position anyway!
      Also comes in handy for writing things like sex scenes when sitting on a train… prevents a lot of mutual embarassement.

Leave a Reply

